top of page
Search
  • hisdaludentfreecno

Megaman X Rom Hacks: The Best Crossovers and Mashups with Other Games



There currently is hundreds of fan created Mega Man rom hacks available online. I have played over 30 of the most popular hacks based off of Rockman (Japanese versions), Megaman, 2, 4 and X. Honestly most are not that great, you would be better off playing official Capcom Mega Man games for the most part. However, a few in the bunch were high quality or had enough uniqueness to them to keep me playing. The list below showcases the best Megaman rom hacks that I recommend playing. If you feel I have missed some great hacks, please comment below!


One of the most popular ROM hacks among SNES streamers is Link to the Past Randomizer, which allows you to take the classic TLoZ and run it through a program that shuffles key item locations like the Master Sword or the Fire Rod.




Megaman X Rom Hacks




I plugged the SNES into the wall, turned on the TV and started playing. Something was off though, there was no copyright date it just went to the Capcom logo and it looked blood red. It didn't shock me because hacks can change spirits. But this wasn't a ROM hack. How could a ROM hack be sold? It went to the title screen, with no intro or music just silence. There was no menu either it just went to the opening stage as normal.


Hack Showcases and RPG Hack Showcases are a series where I show off various game and rpg hacks. I try to stick with hacks that improve gameplay or add quality of life features, completely or partially change the plot and characters, along with additional content, dialogue, graphical and sound improvements. Non-rpgs I try to give a full run to, or at least enough for a solid review. Rpgs I will stick with titles that have enough changes in the beginning to show off, and when I can, show parts later in the games where more differences appear. There may be spoilers in the reviews and videos. Some of these I may stream fully in the future or play on my own. Reviews are open to later revisions due to bug and content updates or me playing them and finding anything new I wish to bring up.


ROM hacking is generally accomplished through use of a hex editor and various specialized tools such as tile editors, and game-specific tools which are generally used for editing stages, items, and the like, although more advanced tools such as assemblers and debuggers are occasionally used. Once ready, they are usually distributed on the Internet for others to play on an emulator or console. There is such a big number of hacks available on the Internet, that searching for "Mega Man hacks" on YouTube will easily reveal at least a dozen. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page